The Devil is in the Details

I went to go see The Tragical History of the Life and Death of Doctor Faustus  not only because I became interested in the play after reading it for this class, but also because one of my really good friends was Faustus. This was my first GW production I saw and I was taken away by the talent in my fellow peers- especially Brewster. Like the audiences in Early Modern London, I was the most excited for the final scene. I was interested to see how this production would execute its affect in an age where visual effects have raised expectations and under a lower budget. I thought the use of lighting is what really made the chill effective. By putting the audience in the dark at the peak of the play then utilizing harsh red light, it was a shock . In addition, the use of white costume for Lucifer and Mephistopheles was ironic because white is typically associated with innocence, but it stood out on the stage with the use of lighting and adopted a different connotation. The dragging off of Faustus after the kiss was dramatic and exceeded my expectations for this production.  I am glad I was able to go support my peers with an educated understanding of the performance.

#actors #lighting #devils

Leave a Reply

